Breaking Barriers: India Women’s Team Makes History with Historic Test Victory over Australia



India achieved a historic win in women’s Test cricket against Australia, with Harmanpreet Kaur’s team securing their first-ever Test match victory against the Australian side. Sneh Rana and Pooja Vastrakar played crucial roles in the win. The Indian women’s cricket team’s victory by eight wickets marked a significant milestone, as they had previously suffered four losses and recorded six draws in 10 official Test matches dating back to 1977. The triumph also ended Australia’s streak against India and marked a memorable homecoming for the Indian team, which played Test matches at home for the first time since 2014. Despite not playing Test cricket for seven years, the Indian women’s cricket team has remained undefeated in England, Australia, and at home over the last couple of years. In the recent match at the Wankhede Stadium, India displayed a strong bowling performance, led by Pooja Vastrakar, and posted consecutive 400-plus first-innings totals in the last two matches, reaching 406 for a significant lead. Despite early setbacks while chasing a target of 75, India’s Smriti Mandhana and Jemimah Rodrigues guided the team to victory. India’s debutants, especially Rodrigues, showcased excellent performances, and Deepti Sharma’s all-round display further contributed to India’s success. The Indian women’s cricket team is now set to play three ODIs and three T20Is against Australia in Mumbai and Navi Mumbai.