Live Updates: IND vs SA 2nd Test Day 1 Toss to Take Place at 1:30 PM IST



India vs South Africa Live Score, 2nd Test: Follow live score and latest updates of IND vs SA match from Cape Town.

IND vs SA 2nd Test Day 1: Following a disheartening defeat in the 1st Test match, where India succumbed to an innings and 32-run loss against a spirited Proteas team, they are eager to salvage something from the two-match series in the upcoming second Test at Cape Town.

All eyes will be on the Indian batsmen who endured a forgettable Test, with only KL Rahul and Virat Kohli providing some resistance. Star batters like captain Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, and Shreyas Iyer struggled to negotiate the formidable South African pace battery, spearheaded by Kagiso Rabada, Nandre Burger, and Marco Jansen.

The Indian bowlers also had a challenging Test, with Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, and Ravichandran Ashwin finding little success on a surface where the Proteas bowlers dominated. With Avesh Khan now in the squad as a replacement for Mohammed Shami, India is hopeful that the Newlands pitch will provide them with a better opportunity to bounce back in the second test.

Live Updates:

IND vs SA Live: Toss time?

The toss for the Cape Town Test will take place half an hour before start of play on Day 1, at 1.30 pm IST. Dean Elgar from SA and Rohit Sharma from India will walk out for the flip of the coin. 

IND vs SA Live: Rohit on Gill’s batting position

‘Gill is very smart and understands his batting pretty well. He prefers that number, he has batted in Ranji Trophy around that position a fair bit. He has opened only in limited overs cricket and in Test cricket but that [No.3] was his preference. He feels he can do well for us at that position,’ Rohit said. Shubman Gill prefers number 3 batting position revealed Rohit Sharma in the recent press conference ahead of the 2nd Test against South Africa.

IND vs SA Live: Hello and welcome to our LIVE coverage of the India vs South Africa 2nd Test taking place in Cape Town. Follow our feed for all the key updates.


South Africa Squad: Aiden Markram, Dean Elgar(c), Tony de Zorzi, Keegan Petersen, David Bedingham, Kyle Verreynne(w), Marco Jansen, Kagiso Rabada, Nandre Burger, Lungi Ngidi, Keshav Maharaj, Zubayr Hamza, Wiaan Mulder, Tristan Stubbs

India Squad: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar, Ravindra Jadeja, Srikar Bharat, Abhimanyu Easwaran