Indian Players Lead Nominees for ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year 2023



The ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year 2023 Award finalists have been announced, with four standout players from the ODI World Cup in India making the list. Indian players Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, and Mohammed Shami are among the nominees, along with New Zealand’s Daryll Mitchell.

Kohli and Shami had exceptional performances in the World Cup, with Kohli emerging as the leading run-scorer and Shami as the leading wicket-taker. Kohli’s incredible 765 runs and multiple records broken, including the most runs in a single ODI World Cup edition and 50 ODI centuries, have put him in contention for the award. Shami’s 42 wickets, making him the highest wicket-taker in the tournament, also earned him a nod for the prestigious honor.

Gill, a rising star in the ODI format, had a breakthrough year in 2023, finishing as the leading run-scorer for the year. His impressive 1,584 runs and historic achievement as the youngest Indian batter to score a double century in ODIs have solidified his spot as a finalist.

Mitchell, with his outstanding performance in the World Cup, scoring 552 runs with an average of 69 and a strike rate of 111.06, is also a strong contender for the award.

These nominations highlight Team India’s dominance in the 50-over format throughout the previous year, with a remarkable streak of ten consecutive victories in the World Cup, only to face defeat in the final.