Ibrahim Zadran to lead Afghanistan in T20I series squad announcement



India will host Afghanistan for a three-match T20I series starting January 11, with a 19-member squad announced by the Selection Committee of the Afghanistan Cricket Board. The series will commence in Mohali, with regular T20I captain Rashid Khan included in the squad, although his participation is uncertain due to ongoing recovery from back surgery.

Ibrahim Zadran, who led Afghanistan to a triumphant 2-1 series victory against the UAE, will continue to lead the team in the series against India. Mujeeb Ur Rahman has been reinstated in the squad, while Ikram Alikhil has been elevated to the main squad as the backup wicket-keeper.

“We are delighted to be embarking on our maiden tour to India for a three-match series. India is the top-ranked side in the world and it’s very pleasing to witness AfghanAtalan competing in a three-match T20I against them. We believe that AfghanAtalan are no longer underdogs & have excelled well in the recent past and we look forward to a highly competitive series against India,” ACB chairman Mirwais Ashraf said.

The Afghanistan squad includes Ibrahim Zadran (C), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Ikram Alikhil (WK), Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Janat, Azmaullah Omarzai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad, Naveen Ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Mohammad Saleem, Qais Ahmad, Gulbadin Naib and Rashid Khan.