Star Players Rohit and Virat Back in Action as BCCI Reveals India’s Squad for Afghanistan T20Is, Excluding Hardik, SKY, and Gaikwad



The T20I series is crucial as it’s India’s final assignment before the T20 World Cup 2024, set to take place in the West Indies and USA from June 1 to June 29. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the 15-member squad for Team India’s upcoming three-match T20I series against Afghanistan. The series begins on January 11 in Mohali.

Regular skipper Hardik Pandya and stand-in captain Suryakumar Yadav will be unavailable due to injuries, so Rohit Sharma has been appointed as the captain for the series.

Rohit Sharma’s return to T20Is after more than a year will be a highlight of the Afghanistan series, as will the presence of star batter Virat Kohli, who has also been absent from T20Is since the T20 World Cup 2022.

India squad: Rohit Sharma (C), S Gill, Y Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, W Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar