Unavailability of Sanju Samson and Yashasvi Jaiswal for 1st T20I against Afghanistan in Mohali



India chose to bowl first in the first T20I against Afghanistan at the Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali. Captain Rohit Sharma, returning after 14 months, won the toss. The Indian playing XI saw exclusions of Sanju Samson, Kuldeep Yadav, and Avesh Khan. Yashasvi Jaiswal was unable to play due to an injury, and Shubman Gill replaced him as the opening batsman. Jitesh Sharma was chosen as the wicketkeeper-batsman. Left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav was omitted, and Ravi Bishnoi took his place. Bishnoi, who performed well against Australia, climbed to the second spot in the ICC T20I bowlers’ rankings. This is India’s final assignment before the T20 World Cup in 2024.