Suryakumar Yadav and 3 other Indians dominate ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year 2023



India, captained by Suryakumar Yadav, played two T20I series against Australia and South Africa after the ODI World Cup. Now, four Indian cricketers are named in the ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year for the 2023 season. Suryakumar Yadav leads the star-studded lineup after leading the Indian team in the absence of Rohit Sharma and Hardik Pandya.

Under Suryakumar’s leadership, India played two T20I series after the One Day International (ODI) World Cup. Suryakumar, known as SKY, retained his top position in the ICC Men’s T20I batting rankings. The ICC nominates eleven exceptional individuals annually who excelled in the shortest format for the ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year.

Suryakumar has been chosen as the captain of the men’s T20I team of the year by the ICC, following a remarkable 2023 season in the shortest format. He began the previous season with a score of seven against Sri Lanka, followed by impressive innings of 51 and 112* in the next two T20Is. He demonstrated his consistency by regularly scoring in the 20s to 40s for India. He also smashed half-centuries against Australia and South Africa. In the final T20I of the year in Johannesburg, India’s stand-in captain achieved a stunning century off just 56 balls against South Africa.

Suryakumar Yadav and Yashasvi Jaiswal have been selected to join the T20I Team of the Year’s batting lineup for the previous season. Jaiswal, a young Indian opener, made his debut against the West Indies and scored an impressive 430 runs in 14 innings, with a strike rate of 159.

In addition to Jaiswal, spinner Ravi Bishnoi and speedster Arshdeep Singh have also made the cut for the ICC Team of the Year. Bishnoi, known for his exceptional spin skills, has secured the top spot in the ICC T20 Bowling Rankings and was awarded the Player of the Series title. Arshdeep, Bishnoi’s teammate, is the fourth Indian player to be named in the Team of the Year. As a pacer, Arshdeep has shown great prowess by bagging 26 wickets in 21 T20Is for India.

ICC men’s T20I team of the Year: Suryakumar Yadav (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Phil Salt, Nicholas Pooran, Mark Chapman, Sikandar Raza, Alpesh Ramjani, Mark Adair, Ravi Bishnoi, Richard Ngarava, Arshdeep Singh.

READ| Misbah-ul-Haq taunts Shoaib Malik over ‘family issue’, old video resurfaces following separation from Sania Mirza