Australia’s Pat Cummins Receives ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year Award for 2023



Australia’s captain, Pat Cummins, has been awarded the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year 2023. His exceptional performance with bat and ball, along with his team’s remarkable achievements, including winning the ICC World Test Championship Final, retaining the Ashes, and securing a record-breaking sixth victory in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, have solidified his position as an inspirational leader. Despite a setback in losing the Border-Gavaskar Trophy to India, Cummins and his team rebounded, beginning with a resounding victory over India in the WTC final, followed by a successful defense of the Ashes in England, and securing their sixth World Cup title after a spectacular comeback. Cummins showcased his all-round abilities in the Test arena and made valuable contributions with the bat when needed. In ODIs, he played crucial innings and made significant breakthroughs with his economical bowling spells. He concluded an exceptional year by achieving his second 10-wicket haul in Test cricket, ultimately contributing to Australia’s triumph in the Test series against Pakistan.