Suryakumar Yadav aims to break Virat Kohli’s T20I record in debut match

Suryakumar Yadav aims to break Virat Kohli’s T20I record in debut match

Following their 4-1 victory in the T20I series against Australia, the Men in Blue are now preparing for the South Africa tour, beginning today with the first T20I match against the Proteas at the Kingsmead Stadium in Durban at 7:30 PM IST.

Before the highly anticipated T20I match between India and South Africa today, World’s No. 1 T20I batter Suryakumar Yadav is close to matching former India captain Virat Kohli’s milestone record.

With 1985 runs from 55 innings, Surya is just 15 runs away from equaling Kohli’s T20I record of being the fastest Indian batter to reach 2000 runs. This record is currently held by Pakistani batters Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan who scored 2000 runs in 52 innings each, with Kohli ranking third after achieving it in just 56 innings.

Next in line, India T20I skipper can equal Kohli’s record and also surpass star wicket-keeper KL Rahul, who achieved it in just 58 innings.

Additionally, the T20I series will mark the return of players like Shubman Gill and Ravindra Jadeja after the 2023 ODI World Cup.

India T20I squad includes: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, and Deepak Chahar.

South Africa T20I squad includes: Aiden Markram (c), Ottniel Baartman, Matthew Breetzke, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee, Donovan Ferreira, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen , Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, and Lizaad Williams.